Hi,
how do I get new lines (p or br) in textarea by disabled JS Editor?
Thanks
new line without JS Editor
- Jan
- Phoca Hero
- Posts: 48726
- Joined: 10 Nov 2007, 18:23
- Location: Czech Republic
- Contact:
Re: new line without JS Editor
Hi, if you are not using js editor, then it is normally textarea field, so there are no such tags added. 
Jan

Jan
If you find Phoca extensions useful, please support the project
-
- Phoca Newbie
- Posts: 3
- Joined: 27 Jan 2010, 22:50
Re: new line without JS Editor
Hi,
but I thought, if I put "wrap=physical" in the textarea-tag (in view.html.php) , then I got line breaks?
Thanks
but I thought, if I put "wrap=physical" in the textarea-tag (in view.html.php) , then I got line breaks?
Thanks
- Jan
- Phoca Hero
- Posts: 48726
- Joined: 10 Nov 2007, 18:23
- Location: Czech Republic
- Contact:
Re: new line without JS Editor
Hi, no idea what wrap=physical should mean?
If you find Phoca extensions useful, please support the project
-
- Phoca Newbie
- Posts: 3
- Joined: 27 Jan 2010, 22:50
Re: new line without JS Editor
Hi,
I mean the HTML wrap options (parameter) - part of textareas - there are 3 ones:
- If you turn wrap "off" the text is handled as one long sequence of text without linebreaks;
- If you set it to "virtual" the text appears on your page as if it recognized linebreaks - but when the form is submitted the linebreaks are turned off;
-> and now my wish:
- If you set it to "physical" the text is submitted exactly as it appears on the screen - linebreaks included
For example:
<textarea cols="45" rows="10" name="myname" id="myname" wrap="physical">
Now here is the written text in form. <br>
And more text after a new line.
</textarea>
Hope, you have now an idea?
Greatings & Thanks
I mean the HTML wrap options (parameter) - part of textareas - there are 3 ones:
- If you turn wrap "off" the text is handled as one long sequence of text without linebreaks;
- If you set it to "virtual" the text appears on your page as if it recognized linebreaks - but when the form is submitted the linebreaks are turned off;
-> and now my wish:
- If you set it to "physical" the text is submitted exactly as it appears on the screen - linebreaks included
For example:
<textarea cols="45" rows="10" name="myname" id="myname" wrap="physical">
Now here is the written text in form. <br>
And more text after a new line.
</textarea>
Hope, you have now an idea?
Greatings & Thanks
- Jan
- Phoca Hero
- Posts: 48726
- Joined: 10 Nov 2007, 18:23
- Location: Czech Republic
- Contact:
Re: new line without JS Editor
Hi, then you need maybe some converting of "\n" to "<br />" in the code, but I think this must be customized in the code, so after sending the data, this will be converted 
Jan

Jan
If you find Phoca extensions useful, please support the project