Hi! Great guestbook! I have two things/questions/suggestions:
1. Since I manage my site from the frontend very much it would be nice if there would appear like a "red cross" next to the entries when I am logged in as Administrator. So I can remove it entries from the frontend.
2. Since I dont use "Title" in my entries (have removed title-row) I can not know which entrie in the frontend it is in the backend under "items". There is no text under "title" there. Maybe it would be good if the entries in the frontend had an ID on them so you could find them in the backend, or something?
I hope you understod everything. Please tell me if there is some solutions or if you may include this in the new version?
//John
Remove in frontend + remove without title?
- Jan
- Phoca Hero
- Posts: 48689
- Joined: 10 Nov 2007, 18:23
- Location: Czech Republic
- Contact:
1. I understand, If
1. I understand, If I find time, I can do a frontend 'red cross'...
2. Just add $this->id in the:
com_phocaguestbook/views/phocaguestbook/tmpl/default.php in row + - 106
2. Just add $this->id in the:
com_phocaguestbook/views/phocaguestbook/tmpl/default.php in row + - 106
If you find Phoca extensions useful, please support the project
-
- Phoca Newbie
- Posts: 4
- Joined: 04 Feb 2008, 00:27
I added $this-&
I added $this->id in row 106 so it looked like this, but it did not work?
foreach ($this->items as $key => $values)
{
$this->id;
//Maximum of links in the message
$rand = '%phoca' . mt_rand(0,1000) * time() . 'phoca%';
foreach ($this->items as $key => $values)
{
$this->id;
//Maximum of links in the message
$rand = '%phoca' . mt_rand(0,1000) * time() . 'phoca%';
- Jan
- Phoca Hero
- Posts: 48689
- Joined: 10 Nov 2007, 18:23
- Location: Czech Republic
- Contact:
You must add it to t
You must add it to the variable, e.g. in row + - 107 (in foreach $this->id will be $vaules->id). Change the row + - 107 from:
$msgpg .= '<h4 style="background:'.$this->css['backgroundcolor']
.';color:'.$this->css['fontcolor']
.';padding:8px;margin:2px;">'
.PhocaguestbookHelper::wordDelete($values->username,20,'...');
$msgpg .= '<h4 style="background:'.$this->css['backgroundcolor']
.';color:'.$this->css['fontcolor']
.';padding:8px;margin:2px;">'
. $values->id . " "
. PhocaguestbookHelper::wordDelete($values->username,20,'...');
Jan
$msgpg .= '<h4 style="background:'.$this->css['backgroundcolor']
.';color:'.$this->css['fontcolor']
.';padding:8px;margin:2px;">'
.PhocaguestbookHelper::wordDelete($values->username,20,'...');
$msgpg .= '<h4 style="background:'.$this->css['backgroundcolor']
.';color:'.$this->css['fontcolor']
.';padding:8px;margin:2px;">'
. $values->id . " "
. PhocaguestbookHelper::wordDelete($values->username,20,'...');
Jan
If you find Phoca extensions useful, please support the project
-
- Phoca Newbie
- Posts: 3
- Joined: 08 Aug 2008, 01:03
Re: Remove in frontend + remove without title?
Hello there from germany! 
First of all: great component, so thanks to you Jan for it and of course for the helpful forum.
I've got the same 'problem' as John. I'm using the phoca guestbook and I don't need the 'title' in the guestbook.
So here are my questions:
1. What do I exactly have to do to 'remove' the title in the guestbook frontend?
2. I also want the entries in the backend sorted by the ID, not by title (because of not using the title), but my code in line 107 is different, so I can't use what you told to John in the reply before. What/where do I have to add what kind of code?
3. Is it possible to show how many entries were made in the frontend of the phoca guestbook?
Thanks in advance and best regards!
Joe aka cmj

First of all: great component, so thanks to you Jan for it and of course for the helpful forum.
I've got the same 'problem' as John. I'm using the phoca guestbook and I don't need the 'title' in the guestbook.
So here are my questions:
1. What do I exactly have to do to 'remove' the title in the guestbook frontend?
2. I also want the entries in the backend sorted by the ID, not by title (because of not using the title), but my code in line 107 is different, so I can't use what you told to John in the reply before. What/where do I have to add what kind of code?
3. Is it possible to show how many entries were made in the frontend of the phoca guestbook?
Thanks in advance and best regards!
Joe aka cmj

- Jan
- Phoca Hero
- Posts: 48689
- Joined: 10 Nov 2007, 18:23
- Location: Czech Republic
- Contact:
Re: Remove in frontend + remove without title?
Hi
1. you should remove the html code in view:
components\com_phocaguestbook\views\phocaguestbook\tmpl\default.php
- line 274 for removing input field for title
- line 105 (tag <h4>) for removing title from the message boxes
2. then you must change the sql query in:
administrator\components\com_phocaguestbook\models\phocaguestbooks.php
3. there is no such option
Jan
1. you should remove the html code in view:
components\com_phocaguestbook\views\phocaguestbook\tmpl\default.php
- line 274 for removing input field for title
- line 105 (tag <h4>) for removing title from the message boxes
2. then you must change the sql query in:
administrator\components\com_phocaguestbook\models\phocaguestbooks.php
3. there is no such option

Jan
If you find Phoca extensions useful, please support the project
-
- Phoca Newbie
- Posts: 3
- Joined: 08 Aug 2008, 01:03
Re: Remove in frontend + remove without title?
Hi Jan,
thanks for your reply.
1. The problem seems to be, that although I have the latest version of the phoca guestbook the content of the lines are different. line 105 is an empty line and line 274 only has an <tr> tag, nothing more. So I can't find what you posted. Any idea?
2. Okay I found the file but where and how to change the sql query?
3. No problem but maybe an idea for upcoming versions of your phoca guestbook?
Best regards
Joe
thanks for your reply.
1. The problem seems to be, that although I have the latest version of the phoca guestbook the content of the lines are different. line 105 is an empty line and line 274 only has an <tr> tag, nothing more. So I can't find what you posted. Any idea?
2. Okay I found the file but where and how to change the sql query?
3. No problem but maybe an idea for upcoming versions of your phoca guestbook?
Best regards
Joe

- Jan
- Phoca Hero
- Posts: 48689
- Joined: 10 Nov 2007, 18:23
- Location: Czech Republic
- Contact:
Re: Remove in frontend + remove without title?
1. 2. ... if you don't know html/php/sql, you should not do these changes, for these changes you need to know some html/php/sql basics...
Jan

Jan
If you find Phoca extensions useful, please support the project
-
- Phoca Newbie
- Posts: 3
- Joined: 08 Aug 2008, 01:03
Re: Remove in frontend + remove without title?
Hi Jan,
1. This one is already solved, I found what you mentioned some lines below.
2. I know about html/php and (little) sql, but you only told, in which file changes have to happen, but I don't know what exactly has to be changed. I guess that the answer(s) to his questions(s) would be very helpful because I think I'm not the only one who doesn't need a title in a guestbook and so the backend has to show the entries sorted by ID and not by title.
If you have some helping infos this would be very nice. Thanks in advance!
Joe
1. This one is already solved, I found what you mentioned some lines below.
2. I know about html/php and (little) sql, but you only told, in which file changes have to happen, but I don't know what exactly has to be changed. I guess that the answer(s) to his questions(s) would be very helpful because I think I'm not the only one who doesn't need a title in a guestbook and so the backend has to show the entries sorted by ID and not by title.
If you have some helping infos this would be very nice. Thanks in advance!
Joe

- Jan
- Phoca Hero
- Posts: 48689
- Joined: 10 Nov 2007, 18:23
- Location: Czech Republic
- Contact:
Re: Remove in frontend + remove without title?
2
the problem is, I don't have any idea what should be changed too, I didn't try it yet. The problem is, I get every day e.g. 50 - 100 mails where users want to help with some pieces of codes... but I have wrote thousands rows of free code. The mirracle is, I can find the file which should be changed. I can help you to show file which contains the code and which file should be change but I cannot show you exactly what should be changed. It is not possible for me
( because of developing free extensions, writing manuals, fixing bugs, answering forum topics, answering e-mails, etc.. everything in my freetime) I would like to write more manuals and more routes for such topics but for this I will need 100 hours a day
so please see the lines I have wrote to change the code ...
Jan







so please see the lines I have wrote to change the code ...
Jan



If you find Phoca extensions useful, please support the project