Hi,
I would like to limit the catcha from 6 characters to 4.
I found some answers - but unfortunately not in english.
Can someone explain me how to change this?
Thx
Matthias
Captcha limit characters (ENGLISH pls.)
-
- Phoca Newbie
- Posts: 3
- Joined: 23 Sep 2010, 12:32
- Jan
- Phoca Hero
- Posts: 48739
- Joined: 10 Nov 2007, 18:23
- Location: Czech Republic
- Contact:
Re: Captcha limit characters (ENGLISH pls.)
Hi, please let me know the topic with not English explanation, I will take a look (there was some but in such topic, I think, there was not guide how to do it, only the place where the captcha class is stored)
Jan
Jan
If you find Phoca extensions useful, please support the project
-
- Phoca Newbie
- Posts: 3
- Joined: 23 Sep 2010, 12:32
Re: Captcha limit characters (ENGLISH pls.)
Hi,
Since I can't translate I don't know if this article really describes the how-to...but the article title "seems" to be related...
Anyway: can you pls. tell me how?
Thx
Matthias
Since I can't translate I don't know if this article really describes the how-to...but the article title "seems" to be related...
Anyway: can you pls. tell me how?
Thx
Matthias
- Jan
- Phoca Hero
- Posts: 48739
- Joined: 10 Nov 2007, 18:23
- Location: Czech Republic
- Contact:
Re: Captcha limit characters (ENGLISH pls.)
I didn't such modification yet, so cannot give any advice there, but if you think some article describes it, just let me know the article, so I can see it and tell you: it describes it or not. If it will describe it and I will be able to understand it, I will translate it.
Jan
Jan
If you find Phoca extensions useful, please support the project
-
- Phoca Newbie
- Posts: 3
- Joined: 23 Sep 2010, 12:32
Re: Captcha limit characters (ENGLISH pls.)
Ahoi Jan,
what's written in this thread?
I understand so far, that you have to change some code? I guessed it's only a kind of a definition (lenght)...
Matthias
what's written in this thread?
Code: Select all
https://www.phoca.cz/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=10500&p=43018&hilit=captcha+limit#p43018
Matthias
- Jan
- Phoca Hero
- Posts: 48739
- Joined: 10 Nov 2007, 18:23
- Location: Czech Republic
- Contact:
Re: Captcha limit characters (ENGLISH pls.)
If you need to modify the captcha image (e.g. lenght of characters), you need to modify this file:
components/com_phocaguestbook/helpers/phocaguestbookcaptcha.php
there is a captcha class where you can change the output of the captcha.
The topic does not say how to do it. Because I didn't do such modification yet, have no experiences with this
So the only usefull advice is the name of the file where the captcha is located, there the number of characters needs to be modified.
Jan
components/com_phocaguestbook/helpers/phocaguestbookcaptcha.php
there is a captcha class where you can change the output of the captcha.
The topic does not say how to do it. Because I didn't do such modification yet, have no experiences with this


So the only usefull advice is the name of the file where the captcha is located, there the number of characters needs to be modified.
Jan
If you find Phoca extensions useful, please support the project
-
- Phoca Newbie
- Posts: 4
- Joined: 22 Feb 2011, 02:53
Re: Captcha limit characters (ENGLISH pls.)
I found the solution to this problem ... in
go to line 503
your modified the number 6
Just that...
Im from Dominican Republic, Edgar Cotes
Code: Select all
components/com_phocaguestbook/helpers/phocaguestbookcaptcha.php
your modified the number 6
Code: Select all
$rand_char = PhocaguestbookHelperCaptcha::generateRandomChar(6);
Im from Dominican Republic, Edgar Cotes
