Phoca Download behind reverse proxy

Phoca Download - download manager
cognoquest
Phoca Newbie
Phoca Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: 22 Jun 2009, 15:04

Phoca Download behind reverse proxy

Post by cognoquest »

Hello,

I am having a problem with Phoca Download. My server is sitting behind an Apache reverse proxy setup. I have set the absolute url location to the site

Code: Select all

var $live_site = 'http://demo...'
in the configuration.php file.

I can see the component and the modules. As soon as I try to create anything the components do not seem to use the $live_site variable and pages are not found.

Both the Joomla and Reverse Proxy Web Server are running in VMWare:
PHP version = 5.1.6 apache2handler
Webserver = Apache
Database = mysqlt 5.0.27, lock.system=flock
Toolkits = ArchiveUpload, Exif, Getid3, NetPBM, ImageMagick, Thumbnail, Gd, LinkItemToolkit, Ffmpeg, SquareThumb
Acceleration = none, none
CentOS Operating system = 2.6.18-53 #1 SMP Wed Fe
Joomla! Version: Joomla! 1.5.11 Production/Stable [ Vea ] 03-June-2009 03:30 GMT User Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9.0.10) Gecko/2009042316 Firefox/3.0.10 (.NET CLR 3.5.30729)

Philippe

Note: I have logged a similar problem with mod_login http://forum.joomla.org/viewtopic.php?f=428&t=412690.
User avatar
Jan
Phoca Hero
Phoca Hero
Posts: 47887
Joined: 10 Nov 2007, 18:23
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Phoca Download behind reverse proxy

Post by Jan »

:( Sorry I don't have any experiences with reverse proxy, maybe some server expert will help us. :(

Jan
If you find Phoca extensions useful, please support the project
cognoquest
Phoca Newbie
Phoca Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: 22 Jun 2009, 15:04

Re: Phoca Download behind reverse proxy

Post by cognoquest »

Hello Jan

I would not be too sorry if I was you. I am having similar issues with other Joomla third party plug-ins also with mod_login. You are the first one that I have had a reply on the subject. Very much appreciated.

Code: Select all

"I don't have any experiences with reverse proxy, maybe some server expert will help us"
Do not want to be over confident but not convinced that this is the problem. I am asking myself why is the rest of joomla core working? or seems to work except for this glitch with mod_login.

It would not make lots of sense to me to modify an apache configuration just for this plug-in or by the same fact any other Joomla plug-in.

Also what makes me believe that we might be having a different problem than an apache configuration issue is that if I remove the above variable

Code: Select all

var $live_site = 'http://demo...'
the rest of Joomla starts behaving like this plug-in. Could it be that this variable is not being used in the coding of this plug-in?

Philippe
User avatar
Jan
Phoca Hero
Phoca Hero
Posts: 47887
Joined: 10 Nov 2007, 18:23
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Phoca Download behind reverse proxy

Post by Jan »

Hi, $live_site is not using there. For all paths, Joomla! framework methods are used there, so that is why I don't know where can be the problem. :( Paths, Urls, Language Strings, etc. all are created by Joomla! framework methods there :-(

Jan
If you find Phoca extensions useful, please support the project
cognoquest
Phoca Newbie
Phoca Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: 22 Jun 2009, 15:04

Re: Phoca Download behind reverse proxy

Post by cognoquest »

I understand that the methods used to retrieve this type of information are coming from the Framework. I suspect that the methods used here do not retrieve the live site information and that is stopping the use of Phoca Download in Reverse Proxy.

I did a quick google search on $live_site. Regrettably there seems to be many ways to retrieve the URI information with the $live_site information:

Here is a few discussions on the topic:
http://forum.joomla.org/viewtopic.php?f=476&t=278345
http://forum.joomla.org/viewtopic.php?t=196321

So regrettably I am not sure what the proper methods to retrieve the information are.

Philippe
User avatar
Jan
Phoca Hero
Phoca Hero
Posts: 47887
Joined: 10 Nov 2007, 18:23
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Phoca Download behind reverse proxy

Post by Jan »

Sorry I don't know the $live_site and don't know how to use it (is this obsolete method?) In Phoca Download the methods from JURI class are used, maybe changing some methods will help:

JURI::base(true) <-> JURI::base() <-> JURI::root() ...

Jan
If you find Phoca extensions useful, please support the project
cognoquest
Phoca Newbie
Phoca Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: 22 Jun 2009, 15:04

Re: Phoca Download behind reverse proxy

Post by cognoquest »

Jan I can’t really tell you what is obsolete or not, I don’t know. Sounds to me like this situation is bit of mess, there is lots of posts on the subject. My guts feeling is that $live_site was created to resolve a SEF issues in Joomla 1.5. I believe the SEF approach is the use of a reverse proxy implementation. See:
http://forum.joomla.org/viewtopic.php?t=263811

From what I am gathering version 1.0 of Joomla was dealing with reverse proxy and I am not convinced that in the design of 1.5 this was done or thought of. Now people like me who are using reverse proxy are falling back on the fix for SEF to use there implementation of a reverse proxy and it seems to partially work.
I believe that the use of reverse proxy is a fairly common practice, especially in the business community. All of this is not looking good for the release of Joomla 1.5. See:
http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/joomla ... m_id=16930

In my particular case I have started a few months ago using Joomla 1.5, building a website for a ski club. I thought Joomla was the right choice I am starting to have second thoughts about that.

I am doing this project on my home servers. The use of a reverse proxy is not mandatory for me it is only done out of choice it allows me to compartmentalize or firewall my different projects in this particular case I have moved the code to the front server and all runs fine. I am going to have to place a call with the hosting company running the production version of this website. If they use any type of reverse proxy implementation to access their local sites than I am in big trouble.

Jan sounds to me like you are a great guy. I have not used Phoca Download for a long time and if I can not resolve my issues its life time with me might be short. Still from what I can see you have done a great job, you deserver lots of credit. Even if none of us have a real solution to this problem I appreciate your listening ear.

Philippe
thilo
Phoca Newbie
Phoca Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: 19 Mar 2009, 09:24

Re: Phoca Download behind reverse proxy

Post by thilo »

For your information.
this may be the solution for your problem... had a similar issue :x with the search module and this patch solved it ...

http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/joomla ... m_id=16930

hope I could help
User avatar
Jan
Phoca Hero
Phoca Hero
Posts: 47887
Joined: 10 Nov 2007, 18:23
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Phoca Download behind reverse proxy

Post by Jan »

Hi, thank you for this information
If you find Phoca extensions useful, please support the project
Post Reply