Feature request: use random order number

Phoca Cart - complex e-commerce extension
keep2000
Phoca Member
Phoca Member

Feature request: use random order number

Post by keep2000 »

If I see it correctly, Phoca Cart can use the following fields when generating the order number: {prefix}{year}{month}{day}{orderid}{suffix}. To make it unique, the {orderid} field must be included, but this means that visitors can see approximately how many orders the online store has.
Is it possible to have a randomly generated character set of a specified length as the order identifier? For example, A5HJ7K9L4P

Tags:
mino182
Phoca Professional
Phoca Professional

Re: Feature request: use random order number

Post by mino182 »

And when will he receive invoice? Invoice should have continuous numbering...
keep2000
Phoca Member
Phoca Member

Post by keep2000 »

I'm new to Phoca Cart. I've built e-shops using several different ecommerce solutions, but none of my shops generate invoices. In our country, it's not possible to use a webshop-generated PDF as an invoice. Is invoice generation mandatory in Phoca Cart, or can I disable it?
Jan
Phoca Hero
Phoca Hero

Post by Jan »

Hi, invoice feature is here for users who want to use invoices in Phoca Cart. Usually, users create invoices in accounting software. It is just up to you if you will use the invoicing system in Phoca Cart or you just use the order id and create invoice in your accounting software. The invoice is generated dynamically so if you just don't create invoice and download it and use it, such just does not exist and nobody forces you to use invoicing in Phoca Cart.

Jan
If you find Phoca extensions useful, please support the project
keep2000
Phoca Member
Phoca Member

Post by keep2000 »