Preview Error not fixed by 3.1.1

Phoca Download - download manager
tapiochre
Phoca Enthusiast
Phoca Enthusiast
Posts: 58
Joined: 15 Jul 2011, 15:02

Preview Error not fixed by 3.1.1

Post by tapiochre »

Hi there

Joomla 3.5.1 is running on this site.

We decided to enable the Preview option within Phoca download 3.0.6 last week.

In general, component is working perfectly but when we activated the Preview feature and clicked on the preview button, the preview pop-up shows an error message, icluding a tell tale:

Code: Select all

400 - Category not found
With error reporting enabled we see

Code: Select all

Strict Standards: Only variables should be assigned by reference in /home/abbeycollege/public_html/templates/acceler8/error.php on line 20
Line 20 in this file is:

Code: Select all

<h1><?php $config =& JFactory::getConfig(); echo $config->get( 'config.sitename' ); ?></h1>
We thought that this might be a PDL version issue and therefore upgraded to the latest PDL 3.1.1.

Sadly, following the upgrade, the component itself failed to work at all, presenting the same Strict Standards error message.

We have now disabled error reporting and have reverted back to 3.0.6 so that we can get component working again but of course the preview feature is still broken.

Can you advise where the problem might be?

The URL where you can observe the Preview issue is http://abbeycollege.cambs.sch.uk/index. ... s/policies

Hope you can help?

Chris
User avatar
Jan
Phoca Hero
Phoca Hero
Posts: 47870
Joined: 10 Nov 2007, 18:23
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Preview Error not fixed by 3.1.1

Post by Jan »

Hi, when you disable php error reporting or you just make simple quick fix:

from:

Code: Select all

<h1><?php $config =& JFactory::getConfig(); echo $config->get( 'config.sitename' ); ?></h1>
to:

Code: Select all

<h1><?php $config = JFactory::getConfig(); echo $config->get( 'config.sitename' ); ?></h1>
What happen in 3.1.1?

I think, this should have no influence on it, for me, when I see the page, it seems like some problem with URL, possible problems:

1) SEF - try to disable SEF
2) change the PDF name from: A Accessibility Plan May 2014.pdf to: A_Accessibility_Plan_May_2014.pdf - maybe the empty spaces can broke links on your website :idea:

Jan
If you find Phoca extensions useful, please support the project
tapiochre
Phoca Enthusiast
Phoca Enthusiast
Posts: 58
Joined: 15 Jul 2011, 15:02

Re: Preview Error not fixed by 3.1.1

Post by tapiochre »

Thanks Jan.... I'll give those a try and get back to you!

C
tapiochre
Phoca Enthusiast
Phoca Enthusiast
Posts: 58
Joined: 15 Jul 2011, 15:02

Re: Preview Error not fixed by 3.1.1

Post by tapiochre »

Ok, the Stict Error has been fixed by editing the error.php file - thanks. I found the filename had double spaces in it. Preview is good now.

Next I need to find out what the issue is with 3.1.1!
User avatar
Jan
Phoca Hero
Phoca Hero
Posts: 47870
Joined: 10 Nov 2007, 18:23
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Preview Error not fixed by 3.1.1

Post by Jan »

Hi, so now, what is the problem remaining?

Jan
If you find Phoca extensions useful, please support the project
tapiochre
Phoca Enthusiast
Phoca Enthusiast
Posts: 58
Joined: 15 Jul 2011, 15:02

Re: Preview Error not fixed by 3.1.1

Post by tapiochre »

Remaining issue is, if I upgrade to 3.1.1, when I use the menu to invoke the component I get an error page. I'll test more and send you some details

Thx
Chris
User avatar
Jan
Phoca Hero
Phoca Hero
Posts: 47870
Joined: 10 Nov 2007, 18:23
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Preview Error not fixed by 3.1.1

Post by Jan »

Ok, will be great to get a screenshot too.

Jan
If you find Phoca extensions useful, please support the project
tapiochre
Phoca Enthusiast
Phoca Enthusiast
Posts: 58
Joined: 15 Jul 2011, 15:02

Re: Preview Error not fixed by 3.1.1

Post by tapiochre »

I fear this may be a template issue but I cannot really prove it in a live site. I'll get back to you on it
User avatar
Jan
Phoca Hero
Phoca Hero
Posts: 47870
Joined: 10 Nov 2007, 18:23
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Preview Error not fixed by 3.1.1

Post by Jan »

Ok
If you find Phoca extensions useful, please support the project
Post Reply