Page 2 of 5
Re: Added coupon cannot be used - it is either invalid, expired or reached it's usage limit
Posted: 14 Aug 2019, 01:41
by shibumi
Yes, exactly the way I want it to work... but still can not use any coupon code to apply it to the cart
Re: Added coupon cannot be used - it is either invalid, expired or reached it's usage limit
Posted: 14 Aug 2019, 01:45
by shibumi
shibumi wrote: ↑13 Aug 2019, 05:38
Tried adding a second coupon, no valid from date, expiry date set to December 31, 2019 - still no joy...

So added a valid from date and other settings as shown below...
General Options set to:
Code: Select all
Title * Test
Coupon Code * test
Discount 100 (tried with $10 fixed amount as well)
Calculation Type Percentage
Access Public
Customer Group Default
Rules set to the following (set high available quantities for testing):
Code: Select all
Total Amount 10
Minimum Quantity 0
Available Quantity 1000
Available Quantity (Customer) 1000
Products (left empty)
Product Filter include
Categories Digital Photos (only want applied to one category)
Category Filter include
Free Shipping no
Free Payment no
Publishing Options:
Code: Select all
Valid From 2019-08-11
Valid To 2019-12-31
Published Published
Language All
Category settings:
Code: Select all
Title * Digital Photos
Alias digital-photos
Image 6dmkii-2-139.jpg <Select Image>
Parent Category - Select Category - (this is a top category)
Type Online Shop Only
Ordering 1. Digital Photos
Access Public
Customer Group Default
These are my coupon and category settings, and still can not use coupon code
Re: Added coupon cannot be used - it is either invalid, expired or reached it's usage limit
Posted: 14 Aug 2019, 01:48
by shibumi
okay, something very strange just happened... I created a 3rd coupon called Test 2 with code TEST2 set to $10 fixed amount, and did not change any other parameters, and it worked... Why now all of a sudden does this one work?
Re: Added coupon cannot be used - it is either invalid, expired or reached it's usage limit
Posted: 14 Aug 2019, 02:40
by shibumi
More to note... So, setting to Cash on Delivery does not set order to complete, and once you apply the coupon, no payment method is selected... Changed to POS Cash, and can now set order status to complete to allow download of the file, but still entering coupon code and saving, clears payment method... PayPal is default for orders over $0.99, POS Cash is not default
So, further testing with TEST2 code... added valid from (July 1, 2019) and valid to dates (Dec 31, 2019) and applied a category filter (include) coupon code no longer works - invalid, expired, or reached it's usage limit... even with deleting the valid from and valid to dates, still not working... deleting category filter makes coupon active again...
So, setting an expiry date (even just a valid to date and no valid from date) and/or category filter breaks coupon from being used.
Digging deeper, it appears to be just setting product filters and/or category filters to apply the coupon code to that sets the coupon as invalid, expired or reached it's usage limit... I removed the category filter, leaving a valid to date (Dec 31, 2019) and am able to apply the coupon. Again, applying coupon when default payment is PayPal sets payment method to none... is there any way to set a fallback payment method or ajax method to automatically switch payment method based on cart total?
Maybe entering coupon code should be before selecting the payment method? Like maybe before Login/Register section? That way when you enter coupon code, cart total is updated and payment method would update based amount rule on cart total?
As it is now, if cart value is over $0.99 Paypal shows for payment type, but when you apply the $10 coupon to the $10 total and sets cart to $0.00, payment method shows as set, but as soon as you click confirm/place order, alerts you that no payment method is selected.
Food for thought... still doing more testing and will report more back if I find anything else...
Cheers,
Jeff
Re: Added coupon cannot be used - it is either invalid, expired or reached it's usage limit
Posted: 14 Aug 2019, 02:45
by shibumi
Another thing I noticed on the checkout page, the link to the terms and conditions does not work either... I selected my Terms document in the settings, which has an alias of terms-of-use but the link uses terms?tmpl=component and just loads a blank page...
Getting there, slowly but surely

Re: Added coupon cannot be used - it is either invalid, expired or reached it's usage limit
Posted: 14 Aug 2019, 03:12
by shibumi
More digging and testing... so, applying anything other than default settings [edit] except Available Quantity and Available Quantity (Customer) [/edit] on the rules tab of a coupon breaks it and reports the message Added coupon cannot be used - it is either invalid, expired or reached it's usage limit
Re: Added coupon cannot be used - it is either invalid, expired or reached it's usage limit
Posted: 14 Aug 2019, 12:01
by Jan
Hi, the shipping and payment (coupon) rules are based on subtotal value. Because if e.g. setting it on total value, there will be a loop (changing e.g. payment method will loop back to shipping method and changing shipping method will again loop to payment method, etc. etc. But yes, you are right, adding coupon code could be before shipping and payment. I will take a look at it and will add parameter for this.
To see the behaviour of the coupon, I will need to debug it on the server, testing on my own, everything is Ok there.
Jan
Re: Added coupon cannot be used - it is either invalid, expired or reached it's usage limit
Posted: 14 Aug 2019, 12:26
by Jan
Testing now, and I can add the coupon to system normally

Re: Added coupon cannot be used - it is either invalid, expired or reached it's usage limit
Posted: 14 Aug 2019, 13:06
by shibumi
Yes, I can do that now too, but did you test changing the Rules options in the Coupon in the back end? If I add a category or set a minimum value or a product, the coupon becomes invalid
Re: Added coupon cannot be used - it is either invalid, expired or reached it's usage limit
Posted: 14 Aug 2019, 16:06
by Jan
Hi, now I see what you mean, confirmed. There were changes regarding checking the coupon which caused this problem. I will take a look at it and will change it so it works ok in next version.
Thank you for the info.
Jan