Adding name in slideshow

Phoca Gallery plugins - plugins for Phoca Gallery extension
iamalive
Phoca Enthusiast
Phoca Enthusiast
Posts: 55
Joined: 07 Dec 2007, 15:52
Contact:

Hi JanI

Post by iamalive »

Hi Jan

I am using the plugin to show fotos of students in aclass. There is a need to be able to add their name to the image. In the Thumbnail view, the name gets cut off, because of the size limitation and when one opens the image up in the gallery component, the name of the image isn't shown. I need to be able to show this information and maybe even some more text (description) under the image. Is this possible?

Regards
User avatar
Jan
Phoca Hero
Phoca Hero
Posts: 47883
Joined: 10 Nov 2007, 18:23
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

I am planning on to

Post by Jan »

I am planning on to do description in detail view ....

Now you can do:

1. Changing the string length under the thumbnail view in:

joomla/components/com_phocagallery/views/category/tmpl/default.php

Row + - 73

<div class="name"><?php echo PhocaGalleryHelper::wordDelete($value->title, 11, '...'
);?></div>


Just change the value '11' to your own value... But you must make smaller the font in class 'name' in:
joomla/components/com_phocagallery/assets/
Row + - 43

#phocagallery .name{margin-top:5px;color:#135cae;font-style:italic;font-weight:bold;
text-align:center;}



Add to this class e.g.:
font-size:8px


I hope, it will help you, please let me know ...

Jan
If you find Phoca extensions useful, please support the project
iamalive
Phoca Enthusiast
Phoca Enthusiast
Posts: 55
Joined: 07 Dec 2007, 15:52
Contact:

Hi JanWe

Post by iamalive »

Hi Jan

Well I added the class as below:

#phocagallery .name{margin-top:5px;color:#135cae;font-style:italic;font-weight:b
old;text-align:center;font-size:6px;}



but it had no effect. I also changed the other section, but unless the font-size changes , I guess I won't see if its changed the number of letters in the titel. However...

Any other ideas?

Thanks for the rapid replies, Jan - it's appreciated, believe me.

Regards

David
User avatar
Jan
Phoca Hero
Phoca Hero
Posts: 47883
Joined: 10 Nov 2007, 18:23
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Which browser do you

Post by Jan »

Which browser do you use? Did you clear private data (cookies, memory, forms, password...) after changing the CSS? I tried it, it works, but the CSS file must be reloaded...

Jan
If you find Phoca extensions useful, please support the project
iamalive
Phoca Enthusiast
Phoca Enthusiast
Posts: 55
Joined: 07 Dec 2007, 15:52
Contact:

Well I used Firefox

Post by iamalive »

Well I used Firefox and my cpanel to change the file, then viewed it in firefox, IE/ and IE6 with no effect. I had cleared the cache. I've now just checked in Opera which I haven't used and it's the same in that too - no change in the font-size.
I even tried setting it to 25px but no change.

I don't know what else I can do
User avatar
Jan
Phoca Hero
Phoca Hero
Posts: 47883
Joined: 10 Nov 2007, 18:23
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

It works for me. Ple

Post by Jan »

It works for me. Please let me know your website...
If you find Phoca extensions useful, please support the project
iamalive
Phoca Enthusiast
Phoca Enthusiast
Posts: 55
Joined: 07 Dec 2007, 15:52
Contact:

Post by iamalive »

http://mbsz-executive.ch/mbsz/index.php ... n&id=116%3 Adiplomfeier_herbst_2007+&option=com_content&Itemid=152&limitstart=2
User avatar
Jan
Phoca Hero
Phoca Hero
Posts: 47883
Joined: 10 Nov 2007, 18:23
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

It looks like there

Post by Jan »

It looks like there is a collision between your template and Phoca Gallery. Because your site doesn't use font formats from phocagallery.css. Your template set back the font formats created by phocagallery.css.

There is an other solution:
Go to
joomla/plugins/content/phocagallery.php
and add e.g.: font-size:8px after $font_color:

Row: + - 311

From:

$output .= '<div class="name" style="color: '.$font_color.' ;">'.PhocaGalleryHel
per::wordDelete($image->title, 11, '...').'</div>';



To:
$output .= '<div class="name" style="color: '.$font_color.' ;font-size:8px">'.Ph
ocaGalleryHelper::wordDelete($image->title, 11, '...').'</div>';



Jan
If you find Phoca extensions useful, please support the project
iamalive
Phoca Enthusiast
Phoca Enthusiast
Posts: 55
Joined: 07 Dec 2007, 15:52
Contact:

There's somethi

Post by iamalive »

There's something not quite right in that line, but I don't know what. It gives the error:

Parse error: syntax error, unexpected T_STRING in /home/mbszexec/public_html/mbs
z/plugins/content/phocagallery.php on line 316


David
User avatar
Jan
Phoca Hero
Phoca Hero
Posts: 47883
Joined: 10 Nov 2007, 18:23
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

If you copy the code

Post by Jan »

If you copy the code from this forum, you get error, because this forum wrap the code to more lines and makes spaces in function string PhocaGalleryHelper:

From:
PhocaGalleryHelper::wordDelete

To:
Ph
ocaGalleryHelper::wordDelete

You must delete this space in your source code or copy this code:

$output .= '<div class="name" style="color: '.$font_color.' ;font-size:8px">'.
PhocaGalleryHelper::wordDelete($image->title, 11, '...').'</div>';
If you find Phoca extensions useful, please support the project
Post Reply