Phoca Open Graph plugin HTTPS -> HTTP

Phoca plugins - support for all Phoca plugins except Phoca Gallery plugins
geriguy
Phoca Newbie
Phoca Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: 04 Jul 2018, 22:36

Phoca Open Graph plugin HTTPS -> HTTP

Post by geriguy »

Dear Jan,

We migrated our site to use ssl and redirected all of the former http pages to the https versions.
Because of this, Facebook reseted all of our likes, now the counters show 0 everywhere.

The solution would be to show the old urls in og:url tag. (I mean, the http versions, not the https versions).
Can you share the code to display the http://mysite/subpagexxxx instead of https://mysite/subpagexxxx?

I think I need to mod these lines, but don't know how:

Code: Select all

	//URL
		if ($this->params->get('url'.$suffix, '') != '') {
			plgContentPhocaOpenGraphHelper::renderTag('og:url', $this->params->get('url'.$suffix, ''), $type);
		} else {	
			//} else if ((int)$row->id > 0) {
			//$url = ContentHelperRoute::getArticleRoute($row->id);
			//$document->setMetadata('og:url', JRoute::_($url));
			$uri 	= JFactory::getURI();
			plgContentPhocaOpenGraphHelper::renderTag('og:url', $uri->toString(), $type);
		}
(You can read about the theoretic solution here:
https://orbitingweb.com/blog/http-to-ht ... ook-likes/
or here:
https://appscreo.com/recover-facebook-s ... -httpsssl/)
User avatar
Jan
Phoca Hero
Phoca Hero
Posts: 47810
Joined: 10 Nov 2007, 18:23
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Phoca Open Graph plugin HTTPS -> HTTP

Post by Jan »

Hi, Phoca Open Graph plugin does not work with the URL, it does not decide if this will be http or https, it gets the complete URL set by Joomla! : $uri->toString(), $this->params->get('url'.$suffix, '') :idea:

Jan
If you find Phoca extensions useful, please support the project
geriguy
Phoca Newbie
Phoca Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: 04 Jul 2018, 22:36

Re: Phoca Open Graph plugin HTTPS -> HTTP

Post by geriguy »

Hi Jan, thanks.
Isn't it possible to solve somehow to delete the single s character from the end of https after plugin made the request?
geriguy
Phoca Newbie
Phoca Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: 04 Jul 2018, 22:36

Re: Phoca Open Graph plugin HTTPS -> HTTP

Post by geriguy »

OK In theory I could solve the problem with this:

Change the code in plugin's php to:

Code: Select all

$this->renderTag('og:url', str_replace( "https", "http",$uri->toString()), $type);
An in addition

in htaccess:
"don't redirect facebook bot when reaching http site"
(RewriteCond %{HTTP_USER_AGENT} !facebookexternalhit/[0-9])

But because in Joomla settings, Joomla core redirects all visitors (even the facebook bot) to https from http, the solution isn't working...
User avatar
Jan
Phoca Hero
Phoca Hero
Posts: 47810
Joined: 10 Nov 2007, 18:23
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Phoca Open Graph plugin HTTPS -> HTTP

Post by Jan »

Hi, for now I really don't undestand what is the problem, see:

https://www.phoca.cz/news/983-phoca-car ... g-released

(site based on https), the meta tags:

Code: Select all

<meta name="twitter:image" content="https://www.phoca.cz/images/article/phoca-cart-sberbank.png" />
<meta property="og:image" content="https://www.phoca.cz/images/article/phoca-cart-sberbank.png" />
<meta property="og:url" content="https://www.phoca.cz/news/983-phoca-cart-payment-plugin-sberbank-acquiring-released" />
...
All the URLs get automatically https set by Joomla!

In Joomla! settings, there is Force HTTPS parameter enabled but not sure if this is needed. In fact I didn't solve this feature, Joomla! automatically set https so the plugin does't have any specific solution for this :idea:

Jan
If you find Phoca extensions useful, please support the project
geriguy
Phoca Newbie
Phoca Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: 04 Jul 2018, 22:36

Re: Phoca Open Graph plugin HTTPS -> HTTP

Post by geriguy »

OK, I explain.

At our website we had several hundreds of likes/shares for some of our pages.
We showed the counter to our visitors at the side of every page.

A week ago I installed an SSL cert and moved everything to HTTPS.
- I switched on Joomla force HTTPS,
- and also forwarded all of the traffic with adding a few new lines to .htaccess.

Everything worked as should, also Phoca OGP.

BUT!
Facebook counter started to show 0 likes, because https://mypage.hu is a totally different site than http://mypage.hu
It is not an error of Joomla or the error of Phoca. Facebook should realize that http site = https site, but it can't.


I tried to find a solution, and it seems, there is only one:
1., For Facebook it is needed to show the "old" http og:url tag. Even if you show https//mysite.hu/subpage og:url should write meta property="og:url" content="http//mysite.hu/subpage" />
2., You need to recrawl your page with facebook debugger
3., Facebbok crawler need to load/crawl not only the https://mysite.hu/subpage but also http://mysite.hu/subpage too.

If all 3 steps done, than your facebook like counter will show the correct data: http + https likes (cumulative)
Now I have problem with step 3. And it is not related to Phoca. At Phoca side, I could solve to generate og:url - http tag with changing that line in the code. Because in Joomla configuration force https/ssl is turned on, Facebook crawler can't scan my http page. Because of Joomla force ssl setting, Facebook bot has been redirected to https...

It would be a solution to switch of force SSL, but right now, I don't want to do that.
User avatar
Jan
Phoca Hero
Phoca Hero
Posts: 47810
Joined: 10 Nov 2007, 18:23
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Phoca Open Graph plugin HTTPS -> HTTP

Post by Jan »

Hi, yes, now I understand but I think, I cannot give any clue advice there as for now really no idea how to solve it :-( :idea:

Jan
If you find Phoca extensions useful, please support the project
Post Reply