Error after changing collations The page isn't redirecting

Phoca Tools: Phoca Server Unzip tool, Phoca Changing Collation tool, ...
drcretoiu
Phoca Newbie
Phoca Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: 22 Mar 2011, 17:31

Error after changing collations The page isn't redirecting

Post by drcretoiu » 22 Mar 2011, 19:05

Hello,
I have just run Phoca Collation Change Tool. On the backend, I have been able to save specific language characters in a text, but the frontend is not accessible.
The website is www.e-histology.ro
and the error by Firefox is
The page isn't redirecting properly
Firefox has detected that the server is redirecting the request for this address in a way that will never complete.
Internet Explorer shows that index.php is adding a double slash at the end of the url
www.e-histology.ro/index.php//
Has this happened to anyone before?
Joomla installation is version 1.6
Thank you

drcretoiu
Phoca Newbie
Phoca Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: 22 Mar 2011, 17:31

Re: Error after changing collations The page isn't redirecti

Post by drcretoiu » 23 Mar 2011, 11:31

The Tech Support service from the hosting provider wrote me that the database conversion has caused problems and recommended creating a new database and instruct Joomla to use the new blank database.
What do you think? How could this happen?
Thank you

User avatar
Jan
Phoca Hero
Phoca Hero
Posts: 42715
Joined: 10 Nov 2007, 18:23
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Error after changing collations The page isn't redirecti

Post by Jan » 26 Mar 2011, 00:04

Hi, really no idea there, the script changes the database collation, does not make any changes to php, etc. - so loading data from database should not do such behaviour. But yes, you can run the backup and try if this solve the problem.

Jan
If you find Phoca extensions useful, please support the project

drcretoiu
Phoca Newbie
Phoca Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: 22 Mar 2011, 17:31

Re: Error after changing collations The page isn't redirecti

Post by drcretoiu » 30 Mar 2011, 08:50

Eventually, I had my webhosting support team (surpasshosting.com) reinstall Joomla! for me, with appopriate collations.
Of course, they backed-up the old data to a separate folder.
Thank you, anyways.
Dragos Cretoiu

Post Reply