Filtering in the back end

actioncs
Phoca Member
Phoca Member
Posts: 11
Joined: 19 Apr 2009, 08:44

Filtering in the back end

Post by actioncs »

Hi Jan

I am using a very large number of categories. I know there is a "fill out yourself" filter but it would be very useful ( and quicker ) to have a filter with a drop down filtering menu like Joomla has for articles etc. ie giving access to the category tree. Unless there is a tool for doing this and I cannot see it.

many thanks

Wayne
User avatar
Jan
Phoca Hero
Phoca Hero
Posts: 47810
Joined: 10 Nov 2007, 18:23
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Filtering in the back end

Post by Jan »

Hi, I don't understand correctly what you mean. Which view you mean?
If you find Phoca extensions useful, please support the project
actioncs
Phoca Member
Phoca Member
Posts: 11
Joined: 19 Apr 2009, 08:44

Re: Filtering in the back end

Post by actioncs »

It's in the "Phoca Gallery Categories ". It would be useful to filter by parent categories and different sub category levels below them via a drop down, similar to the filter on the "Phoca Gallery Images ".

I have fifty or so categories but most are sub categories and sub sub categories even sub sub sub categories.
I know there is a filter input field but some categories are very long to type in.

eg On the Land>>2010 Rodeo championship>>Bull Riding Finals 20.10.2010

I hope you see what i mean ?

I's not a big issue and I might seem a bit lazy but it would help with workflow.

Many thanks

Wayne
User avatar
Jan
Phoca Hero
Phoca Hero
Posts: 47810
Joined: 10 Nov 2007, 18:23
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Filtering in the back end

Post by Jan »

Hi, there was the select box for displaying only specific category, the problem is, categories are stored in tree, so there were some unexpected problems with this filtering and it produces outcomes which can be confusing for users, this is why it was removed from there. So I think this needs to be customized to fit exactly your needs :-(

Jan
If you find Phoca extensions useful, please support the project
dethisandthat
Phoca Member
Phoca Member
Posts: 13
Joined: 17 Sep 2010, 11:09

Re: Filtering in the back end

Post by dethisandthat »

I noticed when a filter word is given, the SQL actually returned the correct dataset but in the function _categoryTree, those dataset is eliminated. Instead of trying to play around the recursive function _categoryTree, I let the SQL to retrieve all categories regardless of the filter word and looping through the array to filter base on the filter word.

Below is my code changes:

Phoca Gallery version 2.7.4
File: \Joomla\administrator\components\com_phocagallery\models\phocagallerycs.php

Code: Select all

	function _buildContentWhere() {
		blah blah

		//~ we want to retrieve all datas then later filter the element by $search using code
		//~ if ($search) {
			//~ $where[] = 'LOWER(a.title) LIKE '.$this->_db->Quote('%'.$search.'%');
		//~ }
		if ( $filter_state ) {

Code: Select all

	function getData() {
		global $mainframe;
		if (empty($this->_data)) {
			blah blah

			$this->_data = $this->_categoryTree($this->_data, $tree, 0, $text, -1);

			//added begin
			$search= $mainframe->getUserStateFromRequest( $this->_context.'.search', 'search', '', 'string' );
			$search= JString::strtolower( $search );

			//filter the result with $search text
			$this->_data = $this->filterArray($this->_data, $search);
			//added end
			return $this->_data;
add the function filterArray inside the phocagallerycs.php

Code: Select all

    //~ return a copy of $collection which is filtered by $filterText
    function filterArray($collection, $filterText) {
        if ($filterText=='') {
            return $collection;
        }
        foreach($collection as $key=>$value){
            if (stripos($value->title, $filterText)===FALSE)
                  unset($collection[$key]);
            }
        return $collection;
    }
Last edited by dethisandthat on 11 Jun 2011, 00:10, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Jan
Phoca Hero
Phoca Hero
Posts: 47810
Joined: 10 Nov 2007, 18:23
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Filtering in the back end

Post by Jan »

Hi, thank you for this guide, I will take a look at it.

Jan
If you find Phoca extensions useful, please support the project
apictapx
Phoca Newbie
Phoca Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: 01 Oct 2013, 12:31

Re: Filtering in the back end

Post by apictapx »

Have a situation with more than 700 categories and search function was important.
Thanks, dethisandthat. Made some updates in code for version 3.2.6 and Search filter became to work for categories with any level.
User avatar
Jan
Phoca Hero
Phoca Hero
Posts: 47810
Joined: 10 Nov 2007, 18:23
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Filtering in the back end

Post by Jan »

Ok, will be great to get info about the changes.

Jan
If you find Phoca extensions useful, please support the project
Post Reply