My images are not shown...?

Phoca Gallery - image gallery extension
Citadell
Phoca Newbie
Phoca Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: 06 Mar 2021, 14:32

My images are not shown...?

Post by Citadell » 06 Mar 2021, 15:21

I downloaded Phoca Gallery several years ago.
It is used in one section (ACL) of my web site.
It still works as expected.
Now I updated to the latest version.
And Phoca Pages it to another section (another menu) of my web site.
A created the new Phoca pages (menu items) modelled after the existing section.
I now have on the new section the same three pages/menus as on the previous section, namely
1 - Show all folders (List of categories)
2 - Show one specific folder (List of images)
3 - User control panel
Using the new User Control Panel I uploaded images to four newly created sub-categories.

However...
When I "Show all folders" - no folders are displayed.
When I "Show images in specific folder" - I get something like "Your ACL does not allow that"

I haved checked "everything" four times over (especially ACL for the new section/menu) but all seems OK.
The Joomla Media Manager shows all the image files in all 4 subcategories in the same folder with a name similarname to that of the original images in the working section of gallery.

It seems I must have missed something since no Categories and no Images are shown in this section (but they still show in the corresponding menu in the original section).

What could I have missed for this section/menu?

christine
Phoca Hero
Phoca Hero
Posts: 2163
Joined: 28 Nov 2010, 17:20

Re: My images are not shown...?

Post by christine » 06 Mar 2021, 19:31

Hi,

sorry, I don't understand everything, what you mean.

Did you follow this guide: https://www.phoca.cz/documents/2-phoca- ... tart-guide (except chapter Themes).

Are you using current Joomla Version 3.9.25?
Which template?
Your problems belongs to Frontend or Backend?
Frontend Access: https://www.phoca.cz/documents/2-phoca- ... ser-upload

What do you mean with "sections"?
Maybe you hv an URL to see it?

Kind regards
Christine

Citadell
Phoca Newbie
Phoca Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: 06 Mar 2021, 14:32

Re: My images are not shown...?

Post by Citadell » 10 Mar 2021, 12:07

Well,
Yes, the site is updated.
Yes, I logged in as a user (typeB) on the front end, then I followed the instructions on the screen for uploading the images.
(But I did not read the manual. I don't expect my regular users to do that either).
With "sections" I refer to sections of the site requiring a different ACL.
(I used to have "sections" public + usertypeA, me (logged in as a usertypeA) have already uploaded some images some years ago. No problems with with the associated Phoca pages I added or the images I uploaded.
Now I have added usertypeB (and added the same three Phoca pages for the new user group), Logged in as usertypeB I uploaded another bunch of images. Then I experience the problems that I described in my previous post above.)
I use protostar for all sections (but a different copy, (with only a different logo in position 1), for each section)

From your response I deduced that I need to do a "multiple add" before they can be fully accepted by Phoca.
However, all the uploaded images were in the same <a_user_typeB> folder, so I wanted to create some sub folders before I continue with that. (There is a <a_user_typeB> folder, and within that, a "Thumbs" folder.

Then something odd happened. I can create a new folder under the "phocagallery" folder (beside the <a_user_typeB> folder). And I can create a folder under the "phocagallery/<a_user_typeB>/thumbs" folder. But I cannot create a new folder beside the "thumbs" folder.
Thus, I am unable to add a new folder where it belongs. In Phoca I cannot create this new folder "phocagallery/<a_user_typeB>/<newfolder>".
So somehow, somewhere, it seems that the folder where all the images are stored presently, i.e. "phocagallery/<a_user_typeB>", is "non-existant" or "not recognised" by Phoca (which possibly could explain my problems?)

User avatar
Jan
Phoca Hero
Phoca Hero
Posts: 43748
Joined: 10 Nov 2007, 18:23
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: My images are not shown...?

Post by Jan » 10 Mar 2021, 14:27

Hi,

thumbs are folders where only thumbnails are automatically created so why there is a need to create subcategory there?

In case you want to do a subcategory there, what kind of error you get when creating it? Phoca Gallery does not have any limits when creating folders, it just does not manage rights for folders, etc. :idea:

Jan
If you find Phoca extensions useful, please support the project

Citadell
Phoca Newbie
Phoca Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: 06 Mar 2021, 14:32

Re: My images are not shown...?

Post by Citadell » 10 Mar 2021, 15:37

I was not clear enough.
I said that I CAN create a sub folder in the Thumbs folder. NOT that I want or need to.
I want to create the new folder in the users folder, beside the Thumbs folder. But I cannot.
If I try to add a new folder while the users folder is open, I can only add it to phocagallery/, NOT to phocagallery/<a_user_typeB>/ as I would have expected.

User avatar
Jan
Phoca Hero
Phoca Hero
Posts: 43748
Joined: 10 Nov 2007, 18:23
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: My images are not shown...?

Post by Jan » 14 Mar 2021, 13:30

Hi, in such case, you need to check the permissions and ownership of the files and folders on your system.

It is possible that one folder was created by you manually, another by PHP and both have different permissions or ownership and this is why you cannot e.g. create subfolder in folder which was created by PHP (but if this is the case, then this is much more a question on server hosting provider :idea: )

Jan
If you find Phoca extensions useful, please support the project

Citadell
Phoca Newbie
Phoca Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: 06 Mar 2021, 14:32

Re: My images are not shown...?

Post by Citadell » 14 Mar 2021, 13:52

Hmmm,

AFAIK I have not made anything differently between the first and the second time I added my images...

I have never worked with PHP directly, only via Phoca (or Kunena, or Joomla).

So I am still bewildered. I'll see what I can do with FTP.

User avatar
Jan
Phoca Hero
Phoca Hero
Posts: 43748
Joined: 10 Nov 2007, 18:23
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: My images are not shown...?

Post by Jan » 16 Mar 2021, 15:51

Ok
If you find Phoca extensions useful, please support the project

Citadell
Phoca Newbie
Phoca Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: 06 Mar 2021, 14:32

Re: My images are not shown...?

Post by Citadell » 16 Mar 2021, 16:52

Well, with FTP I can add folders where I wanted. But Phoca will not recognise their contents.

So, as I understand it, Phoca uses "Categories" (in the DB) _instead_ of sub folders and does actively prevent the use of any sub folders in a user's folder (except for the Thumbs folder).

User avatar
Jan
Phoca Hero
Phoca Hero
Posts: 43748
Joined: 10 Nov 2007, 18:23
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: My images are not shown...?

Post by Jan » 17 Mar 2021, 00:46

Hi,

see similar posts in this forum. Phoca Gallery has independent database and filesystem layer. One image stored on server can be in different categories, in different items. Category != Folder. All images of users are stored in user's folders and yes, it is not divided to subfolders.

Jan
If you find Phoca extensions useful, please support the project

Post Reply