Geolocation empty on https site

Before you ask see the Phoca Gallery User Manual
Brujo
Phoca Member
Phoca Member
Posts: 49
Joined: 26 Apr 2009, 13:17

Geolocation empty on https site

Post by Brujo » 04 Jan 2016, 14:00

when I try to set Geolocation Coordinates in Backend for Categories I get an blank popup, also when I enabled show Geolocation on category it was empty in frontend.

My site is running under https only therefore I changed on the 4 locations in the scripts from http: -> https: and it works now. Maybe I have overseen if there is a Setting to enable https in general, or maybe it is perhaps missing.

Code: Select all

/administrator/components/com_phocagallery/views/phocagalleryg/tmpl/default.php:echo '<script src="https://www.google.com/jsapi" type="text/javascript"></script>';

/components/com_phocagallery/views/category/tmpl/default_geotagging.php:echo '<script src="https://www.google.com/jsapi" type="text/javascript"></script>';

/components/com_phocagallery/views/map/tmpl/default.php:        echo '<script src="https://www.google.com/jsapi" type="text/javascript"></script>';

/components/com_phocagallery/views/categories/tmpl/default_map.php:     echo '<script src="https://www.google.com/jsapi" type="text/javascript"></script>';
Phoca Gallery Version 4.2.2 on Joomla 3.4.8


User avatar
Jan
Phoca Hero
Phoca Hero
Posts: 40103
Joined: 10 Nov 2007, 18:23
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Geolocation empty on https site

Post by Jan » 07 Jan 2016, 13:48

Hi, for now there is no such option (I have added some to Phoca Maps), so I will add it to the next version of Phoca Gallery too.

Thank you for the info.

Jan
If you find Phoca extensions useful, please support the project

Brujo
Phoca Member
Phoca Member
Posts: 49
Joined: 26 Apr 2009, 13:17

Re: Geolocation empty on https site

Post by Brujo » 07 Jan 2016, 20:45

glad to give a litle pice back for the outstandig Job you do

thanks and keep up the good Job

Olg
Phoca Member
Phoca Member
Posts: 18
Joined: 13 Dec 2015, 16:58

Re: Geolocation empty on https site

Post by Olg » 13 Dec 2017, 18:37

Hi, after site migration from http to https Gallery don't set Geolocation Coordinates to images when create thumbnails (in original file's exif-data is GPS information). I changed in Gallery's files "http://www.google.com/jsapi" to "//www.google.com/jsapi" but Geolocation Coordinates don't set anyway. Phoca Gallery Version 4.3.6 on Joomla 3.8.3. Is any solution for this problem?

User avatar
Jan
Phoca Hero
Phoca Hero
Posts: 40103
Joined: 10 Nov 2007, 18:23
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Geolocation empty on https site

Post by Jan » 16 Dec 2017, 19:27

Hi, is the info about geolocation stored by the images (in administration when you see each image, there are fields for geo location)?
Jan
If you find Phoca extensions useful, please support the project

Olg
Phoca Member
Phoca Member
Posts: 18
Joined: 13 Dec 2015, 16:58

Re: Geolocation empty on https site

Post by Olg » 16 Dec 2017, 20:35

Hi, Jan.
For images, which added when site worked with http -- fields for geolocation are with data. For images, which added when site began work with https -- fields for geolocation are blank.

User avatar
Jan
Phoca Hero
Phoca Hero
Posts: 40103
Joined: 10 Nov 2007, 18:23
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Geolocation empty on https site

Post by Jan » 17 Dec 2017, 12:10

To understand it better:

There are two ways how to get geolocation into the image item:

a) manual - in edit mode when you display the map in popup and click on location, such will be stored.
b) exif - automatically - when adding images to system, they automatically get geolocation by exif


So which way is the problem for you?

When b), there is no connection to some url or needed to differentiate between http or https as the location is extracted from image itself - from its exif data :idea:

Jan
If you find Phoca extensions useful, please support the project

Olg
Phoca Member
Phoca Member
Posts: 18
Joined: 13 Dec 2015, 16:58

Re: Geolocation empty on https site

Post by Olg » 17 Dec 2017, 15:28

Hi, Jan.
The way a) is not a problem: a can add geolocation manually. But this way isn't convenient when adding more than one photo.
The way b) now is aproblem. Usually there are geolocation data in my photo's exif. When my site worked with http -- fields for geolocation filled from exif automatically when I added new photos. Now site work with https -- and geolocation don't fill from exif automatically when I add new photos.
Best regards
Oleg

User avatar
Jan
Phoca Hero
Phoca Hero
Posts: 40103
Joined: 10 Nov 2007, 18:23
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Geolocation empty on https site

Post by Jan » 18 Dec 2017, 00:48

Hi, the problem is, reading the EXIF from the file should not be changed, when trying to get the exif info from the original image, absolute path to the image stored on server is used (so no http or https) :idea:

Jan
If you find Phoca extensions useful, please support the project

Olg
Phoca Member
Phoca Member
Posts: 18
Joined: 13 Dec 2015, 16:58

Re: Geolocation empty on https site

Post by Olg » 18 Dec 2017, 07:19

Hi, but problem occurs...

Post Reply